Cross Country News

Start of the 2017 CGA Cross Country Season

Central Gauteng Athletics will be commencing the 2017 Cross Country season powered by MTN Foundation, which is due to beginon the29 April 2017 with the first league taking place at Kagiso Sports Complexin Mogale City.

The season is a compilation of 8 leagues that take place in different regions falling under CGA demarcation namely, Ekurhuleni, Johannesburg and the West Rand. The leagues cater for a large range of age groups, which includes kids as young as 8 years to the oldest athlete being over 75 years. Over the years CGA has performed exceptionally well in Cross Country and normally sends out a reasonablesizedteam to represent the province in the SA Championships which will be held9September2017inPotchefstroomlater this year.

Athletes are required to participate in at least6leagues plus the CGA Championships which will take place in Boksburg Stadium, 12August 2017in order for them to make the team. CGA looks forward to a progressive and action filled season.

NB: Clubs are requested to pre-register athletes that will be taking part in this seasons Cross Country by completing the attached form and sending it back to the CGA offices. There will be a new timing chip system which the commission will be introducingthis season. This system assist in ensuring that the results are produced timeously and accurately.Details of this system will be shared at the upcoming Cross Country Open Meeting, please ensure that your club is represented.

Herewith please find the attached 2017Cross Country fixtures, League programme.


CGA Team for SA Cross Country Championships 2016

Congratulations to all athletes who have been selected to represent the province at the South Africa Cross Country Championships to be held on the 10 September 2016 at Pacaltsdorp in George

Team meeting will be held on Sunday 28 August 2016 at CGA office Germiston Stadium at 14h00 to give final team arrangements.  

We would appreciate if you could advice the selected athletes accordingly and revert back to our office with vest and track suit sizes (only athletes that were not selected for CGA teams in the past 3 years will get clothing). We also request athletes to indicate their travel and accommodation arrangements before the team meeting.

Please also note that Athletics South Africa has open the Championships for deserving athletes to enter as individuals. All entries must go via the province office with the closing date for individual entries on the Thursday, 25 August 2016. For individual entries please submit your name, surname and ID number. 

Once again congratulations to all selected athletes for the championships.

2016 CGA Cross Country Championships

In the midst of 2016 Rio Olympic Games, Central Gauteng Athletics continues to produce champions as we host the 2016 Cross Country Provincial Championships this past Saturday 13 August 2016 in Boksburg Stadium, building up to the National Cross Country Championships which will be held on the 10 September 2016 in George.

Great performances by the men’s green team as they dominate and take the top three positions of the 10km event, which is deemed by most the highlight event of the entire cross country season. CGA congratulates Phillimon Mathiba of Nedbank RC on being the 2016 CGA 10km champion clocking the time of 32:07. Cornelia Joubert of Boxer AC was also crown 2016 CGA 10km woman champion clocking the time of 39:57. An unexpected victory for her and she hopes to place in the top six at the A championships in order to go to the cross country world championships.

The CGA team that will be headed to George in September will be on fire, with an expectation of a few gold medals in the CGA name.Well done to all top finishers and respective category winner of this year’s CGA Cross Country Championships and to all that have made this season a success.

10km Men

1. Phillimon Mathiba Nedbank RC 32:07
2. Ntsindiso Mphakathi Nedbank RC 32:32
3. Derocious Makhubal Nedbank RC 32:56
4. Pharson Magagane Bedfordview AC 33:08
5. Prince Jali Take it Easy AC 33:20


10km Women

1. Cornelia Joubert Boxer AC 39:57
2. Keneilwe Sesing KPMG RC 40:09
3. Lorraine Novela Benoni High AC 40:41
4. Mpho Mabuza Gallopers AC 42:00
5. Devhana Murendwa TUT 43:25


4km Men

1. Precious Mashele Transnet 11:56
2. Paulos Radebe Tembisa AC 12:03
3. Marko Bucarizza Bedfordview AC 12:06
4. Samuel Mathabatha Rockies AC 12:14
5. Jeffery Gwebu KPMG RC 12:18


4km Women

1. Michelle Strydom Nedbank RC 15:13
2. Anet Coetzee KPMG 15:17
3. Zanele Maisa Ulinda AC 15:17
4. Nomsa Cossa Rockies 15:35
5. Thandi Sehohle KPMG 16:05

Cornelia Joubert

Michelle Strydom

Phillimon Mathiba

You are here